10
Mar
10

i hate you, tasha yar

Loving a show has never meant that I must love all the characters. It’s a good thing too, because if it had I would never have made it past the first episode of TNG.

I hate Tasha Yar.

Skin of Evil could be considered one of my favourite episodes just because it’s the end of her.

I don’t think I can even explain what it is about her that I hate so much. It probably falls somewhere between how wooden she plays everything and the fact that they’re trying to sell the most manish woman on board as being “the sexy one”. (Seriously, I just don’t see it. I’ve had people tell me they think she’s hot before and I don’t get it. She’s fugly. Even for a late 80’s-early 90’s sci-fi show).

But I think what pisses me off more than anything is that she breaks and rebreaks one of the cardinal rules of tv.

If you decide that you want out of a show, you weasle your way out of your contract and THEY KILL YOU OFF – you don’t get to come back. EVER. Your character is dead and you killed them. Suck it up.

I hated her long before they killed her off, but the second she showed her ass back up in Yesterday’s Enterprise I was offically done with her. At least, I thought, they killed her off again.

Now she’ll NEVER come back again. She died off twice! They could even cover their asses with the old “giving her a fitting end” excuse.

But no.

Mind’s Eye came along and you’ll never guess who’s back.

Oh wait… no. It’s her daughter. Who is half-Romulan. But who looks exactly like her.

Right.

You know what, Denise. It’s time to give it a rest. You left, okay. You left and they effectively cemented the door shut behind you. Jack-hammering your way back in when you realize that outside isn’t all it’s cracked up to be just ends up making a huge mess that’s going to be glaringly obvious and a huge annoyance.

Doing so a further five times just makes me want to punch you.

9 Responses to “i hate you, tasha yar”


  1. 1 John Bryan
    August 22, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    AMEN! Words can’t describe the hatred I feel for tasha yar.

    • 2 Mike Walker
      May 15, 2011 at 4:37 pm

      U know this happened 20 years ago right LOL wtf dude are u stupid

      • 3 Late Fines
        June 10, 2011 at 7:39 pm

        “You know this happened twenty years ago, right? I laughed out loud. What the fuck, dude? Are you stupid?”

        Somehow I find it difficult to be insulted by someone who is too lazy to write out a three letter word, use punctuation and who takes the time to both read and comment on a random blog post they aren’t interested in.

  2. 4 John
    March 5, 2011 at 4:27 am

    I googled “I hate tasha yar” and got here. Even after completely agreeing with your post it still makes me angry just thinking about her. Ugh..

  3. 5 Jen
    March 10, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    Ugggh,i feel you. I cannot stand yar. I… I just hate her. She ruined Data.
    I mean really? Data had a one-night stand with Yar. And here’s Wiki claiming that they had an ‘intimate relationship’ and that Data carries a hologram of her around with him. Way to be, Next Gen.

  4. 6 Blake
    July 8, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    HAH! Just like John, I also googled “I hate tasha yar”. I am presently re-watching the entire series and I, today, started watching The Mind’s Eye. I heard her in the background during the Romulin interrogation at the beginning and I immediately wanted to vomit. This started my googling to see if others had the same hatred. Hate hate hate soooo much. She acts with the proficiency of a block of wood. Every line is so bland, lifeless, unbelievable and … God she sucks. Her sister in a later episode was FAR more attractive, and believable as a human being too, unlike Tasha. Why couldn’t that actress have played Tasha instead? Then I might have felt an emotion other than SHEER JOY when Tasha died.
    Jen, Data and Tasha did have an extended relationship. The show didn’t show it other than like one episode, but Data refers to it a few times after she’s (thankfully) dead.

    • 7 Late Fines
      September 8, 2011 at 8:19 pm

      Agreed, completely. What really kills me is that Denise Crosby might have ended up playing Troi. What a goddamned train wreck that would have been.

  5. 8 The Rayvolution
    August 19, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    I am sitting in a class bored to death and opened Netflix and decided to watch EaFP; and there she was Tasha Yar…

    I forgot how much I hated this character and I wanted to see what the ol information super highway has to say about Hating Tasha Yar, which brought me to your blog.

    Thank you for the equal hate of a terrible character…


Leave a Reply

