11
May
10

Captain’s Log

Sorry I haven’t posted much lately, moving stress and insanity kind of consumed everything in the LateFines universe, but hopefully I’ll be back to abnormal soon.

While moving on Sunday, my friend Paul and I took a break and watched some Trek (what else would I do?). During one of the episodes I commented on something that always bugs me.

When Kirk is on an away mission where he gets captured, doesn’t know what’s going on, gets hurt or in any other way is no where near the ships computers or any other kind of recording equipment – why is he still making Captain’s Logs? And if he were recording them at a later time, why would he be speaking in the present tense? And if he was recording them in the future, wouldn’t that kind of ruin all the suspense around the idea that he might be killed?

Personally, everytime they do a VO Captain’s Log, I imagine he’s just sitting there talking to himself.

2 Responses to “Captain’s Log”


  1. May 11, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Your last line made me laugh out loud. And I wholeheartedly agree. He NEEDS to do his Captain’s Logs…

  2. 2 latefines
    May 11, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    Can you imagine the look on Bones’ face, him and Spock standing off to the side all WTF? while Jim sits in the corner, talking in to his boot. Now THAT’S an episode I’d like to see.


Leave a Reply

